South East Region of MaltaRepublic of Malta

Member of the LHC since 2016

The South East region of Malta includes the capital City of Malta Valletta which is a UNESCO World Heritage City and in an area of 34.32 sq km. It includes 6 historic fortified cities and two archaeological UNESCO World Heritage Site; TarxienTemples and Hal Saflieni Hypogeum. TheTentative List for Malta includes an extensive part of the Region’s Maritime Fortified Cities which has a proposal for the listing of the Knight’s Harbour Fortifications.

South East Region of Malta Municipality